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GENERAL INFORMATION 
Retain for your files 

1. ALASKA CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT RENEWAL 
You may  apply  to  renew  your  concealed  handgun  permit  within  90  days  before  the  expiration  of  the  permit.    Renewal 
applications submitted earlier than 90 days before the expiration date of the permit will not be accepted.  

You  are  not  required  to  return  or  surrender  your  concealed  handgun  permit  upon  its  expiration.    However,  you may  not 
represent or display an expired permit as if it were valid unless you have submitted a complete, timely renewal application and 
the renewal process has been delayed due to circumstances beyond your control. 

By submitting an application to renew your concealed handgun permit you acknowledge that you have read and understand the 
state  laws  and  regulations  relating  to  concealed handgun permits  (AS  18.65.700  –  18.65.790  and  13 AAC 30.010  –  13 AAC 
30.900). 

2. ADDRESS, RESIDENCE, AND TELEPHONE INFORMATION   
You must be a  resident of Alaska at  the  time you  renew your concealed handgun permit.   Alaska  residency  is defined under 
Alaska Statute 01.10.055. 

You are required to list a residence address on the renewal application.  Your residence address is the physical location of your 
home or other place where you habitually live and includes your house/apartment number, street name, city, and zip code.  In 
outlying areas, provide a brief description of your physical address, e.g., “Village Road,  fourth house on  the  left next  to boat 
ramp.” 

You  are not  required  to provide  your  telephone number.   However,  renewal processing  time may be  reduced  if  there  is  a 
correctable problem on your application and you’ve provided your daytime telephone number. 

3. RENEWAL APPLICATION PROCESS 
Renewal applications may be  submitted by mail  to  the department’s Permits and  Licensing Unit  in Anchorage.   You are not 
required to apply in person to renew your concealed handgun permit. 

Review  your  renewal  application  and  all  required  documentation  before  you  submit  them.    Failure  to  submit  a  properly 
completed renewal application and all required supporting documentation listed in #5 below may delay the processing of your 
concealed handgun permit renewal. 

Complete renewal applications will be processed within 30 days of receipt.  “Complete” means all applicable questions on the 
renewal application form are answered  in full, the renewal application form  is signed and dated, and the required fee and all 
required supporting documentation listed in #5 below has been submitted.  

4. LATE RENEWAL APPLICATIONS 
A renewal application submitted on or after the expiration date of the permit is subject to a $25 late fee.  This is in addition to 
the $25 renewal fee.   

Renewal applications submitted more than 60 days after the expiration date of the permit WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED and will be 
returned  to  the permit holder.    If your permit has been expired  for more  than 60 days, you must  complete  the application 
process for a new permit. 

5. THE FOLLOWING ITEMS MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH YOUR APPLICATION: 
  a.   A  non‐refundable  renewal  application  fee  of  $25 (or  $50  if  submitting  the  renewal  application  on  or  after  the 

expiration  date  of  the  permit)  payable  by  personal  check,  cashier’s  check,  or money  order made  out  to  State  of 
Alaska. 

  b.  One quality frontal view color photograph taken within the 30 days preceding your application.  See the Photograph 
Instructions and Specifications page in this packet for size restrictions and specific information.  

6. TERM OF PERMIT 
Alaska  concealed  handgun  permits  expire  on  the  person’s  birthday  in  the  fifth  year  following  issuance  of  the  permit.    The 
department may adjust the length of an initial permit so that a permit is not issued for a period of more than five years. 



CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT PHOTOGRAPH INSTRUCTIONS AND SPECIFICATIONS 
 

INSTRUCTIONS: 
1. Photograph must be taken within the 30 days preceding the date of application. 

2. Print applicant’s name, date photograph was taken, and the Alaska driver’s license number or Alaska 
identification card number on the back of the photograph. 
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SPECIFICATIONS 

1. Uncut (not trimmed), rectangular, color photograph including the top of the subject’s head to the 
shoulders (computer disc from a digital camera is acceptable – format must be .BMP, .DIB, .TGA, .TIF, 
.PCX, .GIF, .WPG, .JPG, .CMP, and .PCD). 

2. Outer dimension of the photograph is not less than 2 inches wide by 2 inches high (passport 
photographs are acceptable). 

3. Photograph of applicant is full frontal view including head and shoulders only. 

4. Background is very light or white with no fancy backdrop or lettering behind subject. 

5. Image is sharp and correctly exposed, not retouched. 

6. Photograph lies flat, is not stained, cracked, or mutilated; is not pasted on a card or mounted in any 
way. 

7. Group pictures and full‐length portraits are not acceptable. 

8. Photograph of applicant in a hat or sunglasses is not acceptable. 
 

IMPORTANT NOTE: Failure to submit a photograph as specified will delay application processing. 
 

Top of head to 

shoulders 

 

Height not 
less than 2” 

Width not less than 2” 



5700 E Tudor Road 
Anchorage, AK 99507 
Phone: 907.269.5767 

Fax: 907.269.5091 
dps.criminal.records@alaska.gov 

http://dps.alaska.gov/Statewide /
R-I/background/Home  

Criminal History 
Record Background 
Checks 

What are the laws? 

State Laws, Regulations, and Policies: 

 AS 12.62.110-120 

 AS 12.62.160-170 

 AS 12.62.400 

 AS 12.62.900 

 AS 47.05.300-390 

 13 AAC 68 

 CSA Security Policy 

Federal Laws, Regulations, and Policies: 

 25 USC 34 Section 3207 

 Pub L. 92-544 

 US Department of Justice Order 
556-73 

 FBI CJIS Security Policy 
(available on the FBI’s website: 
https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis
/cjis-security-policy-resource-
center) 

References and Resources Department of 
Public Safety 

The Requirements, the 
Laws, and your Rights  

Department of 
Public Safety 

Criminal Records & 
Identification Bureau 

There are various state and federal laws 
governing the access and use of criminal 

justice information 

mailto:dps.criminal.records@alaska.gov
http://dps.alaska.gov/Statewide/R-I/Background/Home
http://dps.alaska.gov/Statewide/R-I/Background/Home
https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/cjis-security-policy-resource-center
https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/cjis-security-policy-resource-center
https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/cjis-security-policy-resource-center


What is it? 

A State Criminal History Record 
Background Check is a report from the 
Alaska Public Safety Information 
Network which is the Alaska criminal 
history repository managed by the 
Department of Public Safety.   

The repository contains information 
regarding an individual’s adult (18+) 
criminal arrests and convictions.  
Criminal is defined as a misdemeanor 
or felony offense.  Infractions or 
violations, and most juvenile criminal 
offenses, are not included in the 
report. 

The report will contain convictions, as 
well as dismissed and not guilty findings. 

Criminal History Record Background Checks 

Who needs one? 

Under state and federal laws, a Criminal 
History Record Background Check is 
required for any person seeking to be a 
foster parent, guardianship parent, or 
adoptive parent.  This will also include 
checks for all household members (16+). 
The checks are also required for any 
employees or volunteers working with 
children and young adults. 

How do I get one? 

Under state and federal laws, each 
person is entitled to a copy of their 
criminal history record, generally for a fee 
and upon proof of identification.   

The federal reports can only be obtained 
with submission of fingerprints along with 
the required forms and fees.  The Federal 
Bureau of Investigation (FBI) manages 
the federal reports. 

The state report can be either fingerprint 
based or name based, based upon proof of 
identification, and it also requires 
completion of the required forms and fees.  
The Department of Public Safety 
administers the Criminal History 
Background Check program for Alaska. 

How is my information 
protected? 

There are a number of state and 
federal laws governing the access and 
use of criminal history records.  The 
information is confidential under state 
and federal law, and persons found to 
have misused the information may be 
subject to criminal investigation.    

What if the information is 
not accurate? 

If you believe the information in the 
report is not accurate or is incomplete, 
please contact the Criminal Records 
and Identification Bureau at the 
Department of Public Safety (online or 
in person in Anchorage).  A Request to 
Correct Criminal Justice Information 
form will need to be completed in 
order for staff to research your record. 

http://dps.alaska.gov/Statewide/R-I/Background/Home  

Criminal History Records are 
confidential under state and federal 

laws and must be securely 
maintained.  You have the right to 

review your record and to challenge 
the accuracy of the information 

contained in the records. 

http://dps.alaska.gov/Statewide/R-I/Background/Home
http://dps.alaska.gov/Statewide/R-I/Background/Home
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NONCRIMINAL JUSTICE APPLICANT’S PRIVACY RIGHTS 

As an applicant who is the subject of a national fingerprint-based criminal history record check for 

a noncriminal justice purpose (such as an application for employment or a license, an immigration 

or naturalization matter, security clearance, or adoption), you have certain rights which are 

discussed below. All notices must be provided to you in writing. 1 These obligations are pursuant to 

the Privacy Act of 1974, Title 5, United States Code (U.S.C.) Section 552a, and Title 28 Code of 

Federal Regulations (CFR), 50.12, among other authorities. 

• You must be provided an adequate written FBI Privacy Act Statement (dated 2013 or later) 

when you submit your fingerprints and associated personal information.  This Privacy Act 

Statement must explain the authority for collecting your fingerprints and associated 

information and whether your fingerprints and associated information will be searched, 

shared, or retained. 2 

• You must be advised in writing of the procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or 

update of your FBI criminal history record as set forth at 28 CFR 16.34. 

• You must be provided the opportunity to complete or challenge the accuracy of the 

information in your FBI criminal history record (if you have such a record). 

• If you have a criminal history record, you should be afforded a reasonable amount of time 

to correct or complete the record (or decline to do so) before the officials deny you the 

employment, license, or other benefit based on information in the FBI criminal history 

record. 

• If agency policy permits, the officials may provide you with a copy of your FBI criminal 

history record for review and possible challenge.  If agency policy does not permit it to 

provide you a copy of the record, you may obtain a copy of the record by submitting 

fingerprints and a fee to the FBI.  Information regarding this process may be obtained at  

https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks and 

https://www.edo.cjis.gov. 

• If you decide to challenge the accuracy or completeness of your FBI criminal history record, 

you should send your challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned information 

to the FBI.  Alternatively, you may send your challenge directly to the FBI by submitting a 

request via https://www.edo.cjis.gov.  The FBI will then forward your challenge to the 

agency that contributed the questioned information and request the agency to verify or 

correct the challenged entry.  Upon receipt of an official communication from that agency, 

the FBI will make any necessary changes/corrections to your record in accordance with the 

information supplied by that agency.  (See 28 CFR 16.30 through 16.34.) 

• You have the right to expect that officials receiving the results of the criminal history record 

check will use it only for authorized purposes and will not retain or disseminate it in 

violation of federal statute, regulation or executive order, or rule, procedure or standard 

established by the National Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact Council.3     

 

 
1 Written notification includes electronic notification, but excludes oral notification. 
2 https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/compact-council/privacy-act-statement 
3 See 5 U.S.C. 552a(b); 28 U.S.C. 534(b); 34 U.S.C. § 40316 (formerly cited as 42 U.S.C. § 14616), Article IV(c);    

  28 CFR 20.21(c), 20.33(d) and 906.2(d). 

https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks
https://www.edo.cjis.gov/
https://www.edo.cjis.gov/
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DERECHOS DE PRIVACIDAD DE SOLICITANTES - JUSTICIA, NO CRIMINAL 

 

Como solicitante sujeto a una indagación nacional de antecedentes criminales basado en huellas 

dactilares, para un propósito no criminal (tal como una solicitud para empleo o una licencia, un 

propósito de inmigración o naturalización, autorización de seguridad, o adopción), usted tiene 

ciertos derechos que se entablan a continuación. Toda notificación se le debe proveer por escrito.1 

Estas obligaciones son de acuerdo al Privacy Act of 1974, Title 5, United States Code (U.S.C.) 

Section 552a, y Title 28 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), 50.12, entre otras autorizaciones. 

• Se le debe proveer una Declaración de la Ley de Privacidad del FBI (con fecha de 2013 o 

más reciente) por escrito cuando presente sus huellas digitales e información personal 

relacionada.  La Declaración de la Ley de Privacidad debe explicar la autorización para 

tomar sus huellas digitales e información relacionada y si se investigarán, compartirán, o 

retendrán sus huellas digitales e información relacionada.2 

• Se le debe notificar por escrito el proceso para obtener un cambio, corrección, o 

actualización de su historial criminal del FBI según delineado en el 28 CFR 16.34. 

• Se le tiene que proveer una oportunidad de completar o disputar la exactitud de la 

información contenida en su historial criminal del FBI (si tiene dicho historial). 

• Si tiene un historial criminal, se le debe dar un tiempo razonable para corregir o completar 

el historial (o para rechazar hacerlo) antes de que los funcionarios le nieguen el empleo, 

licencia, u otro beneficio basado en la información contenida en su historial criminal del 

FBI. 

• Si lo permite la política de la agencia, el funcionario le podría otorgar una copia de su 

historial criminal del FBI para repasarlo y posiblemente cuestionarlo. Si la política de la 

agencia no permite que se le provea una copia del historial, usted puede obtener una copia 

del historial presentando sus huellas digitales y una tarifa al FBI. Puede obtener 

información referente a este proceso en https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-

summary-checks y https://www.edo.cjis.gov. 

• Si decide cuestionar la veracidad o totalidad de su historial criminal del FBI, deberá 

presentar sus preguntas a la agencia que contribuyó la información cuestionada al FBI. 

Alternativamente, puede enviar sus preguntas directamente al FBI presentando un petición 

por medio de .https://www.edo.cjis.gov. El FBI luego enviará su petición a la agencia que 

contribuyó la información cuestionada, y solicitará que la agencia verifique o corrija la 

información cuestionada. Al recibir un comunicado oficial de esa agencia, el FBI hará 

cualquier cambio/corrección necesaria a su historial de acuerdo con la información proveída 

por la agencia. (Vea 28 CFR 16.30 al 16.34.) 

• Usted tiene el derecho de esperar que los funcionarios que reciban los resultados de la 

investigación de su historial criminal lo usarán para los propósitos autorizados y que no los 

retendrán o diseminarán en violación a los estatutos, normas u órdenes ejecutivos federales, 

o reglas, procedimientos o normas establecidas por el National Crime Prevention and 

Privacy Compact Council.3 

 

1 La notificación por escrito incluye la notificación electrónica, pero excluye la notificación verbal. 

2 https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/compact-council/privacy-act-statement 

3 Vea 5 U.S.C. 552a(b); 28 U.S.C. 534(b); 34 U.S.C. § 40316 (anteriormente citada como 42 U.S.C. § 14616),   

  Article IV(c); 28 CFR 20.21(c), 20.33(d) y 906.2(d). 

https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks
https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks
https://www.edo.cjis.gov/
https://www.edo.cjis.gov/
http://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/compact-council/privacy-act-statement
http://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/compact-council/privacy-act-statement
http://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/compact-council/privacy-act-statement


Privacy Act Statement 
 
This privacy act statement is located on the back of the FD-258 fingerprint card. 
 
Authority: The FBI’s acquisition, preservation, and exchange of fingerprints and 
associated information is generally authorized under 28 U.S.C. 534.  Depending on the 
nature of your application, supplemental authorities include Federal statutes, State 
statutes pursuant to Pub. L. 92-544, Presidential Executive Orders, and federal 
regulations.  Providing your fingerprints and associated information is voluntary; 
however, failure to do so may affect completion or approval of your application. 
 
Principal Purpose: Certain determinations, such as employment, licensing, and security 
clearances, may be predicated on fingerprint-based background checks.  Your 
fingerprints and associated information/biometrics may be provided to the employing, 
investigating, or otherwise responsible agency, and/or the FBI for the purpose of 
comparing your fingerprints to other fingerprints in the FBI’s Next Generation 
Identification (NGI) system or its successor systems (including civil, criminal, and latent 
fingerprint repositories) or other available records of the employing, investigating, or 
otherwise responsible agency.  The FBI may retain your fingerprints and associated 
information/biometrics in NGI after the completion of this application and, while 
retained, your fingerprints may continue to be compared against other fingerprints 
submitted to or retained by NGI.   
 
Routine Uses: During the processing of this application and for as long thereafter as your 
fingerprints and associated information/biometrics are retained in NGI, your information 
may be disclosed pursuant to your consent, and may be disclosed without your consent as 
permitted by the Privacy Act of 1974 and all applicable Routine Uses as may be 
published at any time in the Federal Register, including the Routine Uses for the NGI 
system and the FBI’s Blanket Routine Uses.  Routine uses include, but are not limited to, 
disclosures to: employing, governmental or authorized non-governmental agencies 
responsible for employment, contracting, licensing, security clearances, and other 
suitability determinations; local, state, tribal, or federal law enforcement agencies; 
criminal justice agencies; and agencies responsible for national security or public safety.   
   
         As of 03/30/2018 
 
 

https://www.fbi.gov/file-repository/standard-fingerprint-form-fd-258-1.pdf/view


12‐299‐84 (Rev. 08/25/2010)    Concealed Handgun Permit Renewal 

ALASKA 
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
Division of Statewide Services 

CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT 
RENEWAL APPLICATION 

Please type or print using black ink 

Do not write in this space 

This renewal will not be processed unless all applicable questions are answered and the 
required photograph and renewal fee accompany the application.  THE RENEWAL FEE IS 
NON‐REFUNDABLE. 

Section I. 
ALASKA DRIVERS LICENSE OR 
IDENTIFICATION NUMBER 

Department Use Only 
APSIN NUMBER 

DATE OF BIRTH  PERMIT EXPIRATION DATE 

       
FIRST NAME  MIDDLE NAME 

(NMN If no middle name or MIO if initial only) 
LAST NAME  SUFFIX 

(Jr, Sr, II, III) 

       
HEIGHT  WEIGHT  HAIR COLOR  EYE COLOR  RACE  GENDER  DAYTIME TELEPHONE NUMBER 

FT.  IN.  LBS.            Home   Work   Cell 
RESIDENCE ADDRESS  CITY  STATE  ZIP CODE 

       
MAILING ADDRESS (IF DIFFERENT THAN ABOVE)  CITY  STATE  ZIP CODE 

       
Section II. 

Has there been any change in the information submitted on or with your original concealed handgun permit 
application that is not reported on this renewal application? 

 YES   NO 

If  you  answered  “YES,”  provide  an  explanation  below or attach  a  signed  statement  with  an  explanation.    Include  copies  of 
judgments, charging documents or any other paperwork that will allow the department to determine whether you continue to meet 
the requirements of AS 18.65.705. 
 
 
 
 
 

Section III. 

WARNING:    AN  APPLICANT  WHO  SUPPLIES  A  FALSE  STATEMENT,  ANSWER  OR  DOCUMENT  IN  CONNECTION  WITH  AN 
APPLICATION FOR A CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT THAT THE APPLICANT DOES NOT BELIEVE TO BE TRUE MAY BE PROSECUTED 
FOR UNSWORN FALSIFICATION IN THE SECOND DEGREE AND, IF FOUND GUILTY, MAY BE PUNISHED FOR VIOLATION OF A CLASS A 
MISDEMEANOR,  AND  IN  SUCH  CASES,  THE  PERMIT  SHALL  BE  REVOKED  AND  THE  APPLICANT MAY  BE  BARRED  FROM  ANY 
FURTHER APPLICATION FOR A PERMIT. 

I HEREBY STATE UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THAT: 

1. I have read AS 18.65.705 and I remain qualified to receive and hold a permit to carry a concealed handgun; 

2. I want a permit to carry a concealed handgun for lawful purposes, which may include self‐defense; 

3. All statements, answers, and attachments to this application are true and complete; and 

4. I  understand  that  a  permit  eligibility  investigation will  be  conducted  as  part  of  the  application  process which may  involve 
computerized records searches and I authorize the investigation. 

   
Full Name of Applicant (clearly printed or typed) 

       
Signature of Applicant    Date 
 

DEPARTMENT USE ONLY

The receiving agency acknowledges that on    the sum of $   was received in the form of: 

 CASH   CHECK No.     MONEY ORDER No.    

         
Signature of employee accepting application  Printed or typed name of employee accepting application

WHI PNK White F
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ALASKA 
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

Division of Statewide Services 

NICS-EXEMPT CONCEALED 
HANDGUN PERMIT SUPPLEMENT 

Please type or print using black ink 

Do not write in this space 

The information provided on this form is VOLUNTARY and needed only if you are 
requesting a “NICS-Exempt” designation on your concealed handgun permit. This 
completed form must be submitted as a supplement to a new concealed handgun 
permit application, a renewal application, or an application for a replacement permit. 
Section I. 

FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME 
(NMN If no middle name or MIO if initial only) 

LAST NAME SUFFIX 
(Jr, Sr, II, III) 

    
COUNTRY OF CITIZENSHIP (List/check more than one, if applicable) 

United States of America  Other (specify): 
If you are not a citizen of the United States, what is your U.S.-issued alien number or admission number? 
 
Section II.   
Answer questions 1 – 11 by checking “yes” or “no” in the boxes to the right of the questions. 
1. Are you under indictment or information in any court for a felony, or any other crime, for which the judge 

could imprison you for more than one year? 
 YES  NO 

2. Have you ever been convicted in any court of a felony, or any other crime, for which the judge could have 
imprisoned you for more than one year, even if you received a shorter sentence including probation? 

 YES  NO 

3. Are you a fugitive from justice?  YES  NO 

4. Are you an unlawful user of, or addicted to, marijuana or any depressant, stimulant, narcotic drug, or any 
other controlled substance? 

 YES  NO 

5. Have you ever been adjudicated mentally defective (which includes a determination by a court, board, 
commission, or other lawful authority that you are a danger to yourself or to others or are incompetent to 
manage your own affairs) OR have you ever been committed to a mental institution? 

 YES  NO 

6. Have you been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions?  YES  NO 

7. Are you subject to a court order restraining you from harassing, stalking, or threatening your child or an 
intimate partner or child of such partner? 

 YES  NO 

8. Have you ever been convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence?  YES  NO 

9. Have you ever renounced your United States citizenship?  YES  NO 

10. Are you an alien illegally in the United States?  YES  NO 

11. Are you an alien admitted to the United States under a nonimmigrant visa?    YES  NO 
Section IV. 
WARNING:  AN APPLICANT WHO SUPPLIES A FALSE STATEMENT, ANSWER OR DOCUMENT IN CONNECTION WITH AN 
APPLICATION FOR A CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT THAT THE APPLICANT DOES NOT BELIEVE TO BE TRUE MAY BE PROSECUTED 
FOR UNSWORN FALSIFICATION IN THE SECOND DEGREE AND, IF FOUND GUILTY, MAY BE PUNISHED FOR VIOLATION OF A CLASS A 
MISDEMEANOR, AND IN SUCH CASES, THE PERMIT SHALL BE REVOKED AND THE APPLICANT MAY BE BARRED FROM ANY 
FURTHER APPLICATION FOR A PERMIT. 
I HEREBY STATE UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THAT: 

1. All statements, answers, and attachments to this form are true and complete; and 
2. I understand that a permit eligibility investigation will be conducted as part of the NICS-Exempt designation process which may 

involve computerized records searches and I authorize the investigation. 

  
Full Name of Applicant (clearly printed or typed) 

    
Signature of Applicant  Date 
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