
DUI Definitions:
1: Driving Under The Influence  2:  Dangerous Unless Incarcerated
3: Decisions Unlikely Intelligent  4: Diminished Ultimate Influence
No matter how you define it...

A publication prepared by the Alaska State Trooper Public Information Office.

Alaska’s DUI law:

AS 28.35.030 Operating a vehicle, aircraft, or
watercraft while under the influence of an
alcoholic beverage, inhalant, or controlled
substance:  A law on driving while intoxicated
has been in effect since 1949, with the most
recent amendment made in 2004.  It states:  “A
person commits the crime of driving while
under the influence of an alcoholic beverage,
inhalant, or controlled substance if the person
operates or drives a motor vehicle or operates or
drives an aircraft or watercraft.”

Driving while intoxicated (DUI) means driving
or operating a motorized vehicle with a breath
alcohol content of .08 or higher; or driving or
operating a vehicle when your ability is
impaired (regardless of your breath alcohol
content) by alcohol or by a depressant,
hallucinogenic, stimulant, or narcotic drug.  You
can be charged under both offenses.

What happens if you’re stopped?

If you are stopped and suspected of being under
the influence, you may be asked to perform
coordination and balance tests.  Next, you may be
asked to take a preliminary breath test.  This test is
conducted on the spot using a small, battery-
operated portable device.  Depending on the
results of all tests and observations by the
investigating officer, you may be arrested for DUI
and your vehicle may be towed away at your
expense.  When you’re arrested, you will be
handcuffed and transported to a law enforcement
facility where a DataMaster breath test may be
administered.  You are then subject to
incarceration.

If you refuse to take the field breath test, you may
be guilty of an infraction and could be fined up to
$300.  Refusal to take the DataMaster breath test
may be a misdemeanor or felony and carries the
same penalties as a drunk driving conviction (see
chart).

If you are driving while intoxicated and you
cause an accident which results in injury to
another person, you may be charged with assault
in the first, second, or third degree.  If someone
is killed, you may be charged with negligent
homicide, manslaughter, or second-degree
murder.  These offenses are all felonies and a
conviction can result in a lengthy prison
sentence.

If you are a driver who has been involved in an
accident which results in injury to another
person, a chemical test for alcohol and drug
analysis may be administered without your
consent.



Is DUI worth…
• Spending at least 3 days in jail?
• Losing your license for a minimum of 3

months?
• Paying for mandatory SR22 insurance?
• Paying a fine of at least $1,500?
• Risking your life and the lives of those

traveling with you or in your path?
• Ruining your reputation?
• Living with the guilt of having killed another

person?
It’s your decision.

The Open Container Law:
AS 28.35.029 went into effect 1988, and was
amended April 1, 1992. It addresses open
containers of alcoholic beverages in motor
vehicles.  A person may not drive a motor
vehicle on a highway or vehicular way or area,
when there is an open bottle, can, or other
receptacle containing an alcoholic beverage in
the passenger compartment of the vehicle.  The

term open includes having a broken seal, and
passenger compartment means the area normally
occupied by the driver and passengers and
includes a utility or glove compartment which is
accessible to the driver or a passenger while the
motor vehicle is being operated.  A person who
violates this law is guilty of an infraction.

“Use It/Lose It” Law:
AS 28.15.183 went into effect July 1, 1994.  It
takes a strong stance against underage drinkers.
Alaska youth, between the ages of 14 and 21, who
use or carry alcohol or illegal drugs, can not only
be charged with minor consumption or possession,
a criminal misdemeanor, but they will also
temporarily lose their driver’s license. In 1999, the
law was revised relating to revocation and
reinstatement of the driver’s license.  The youth
has 10 days to request an administrative review.
The first revocation is for 30 days, the second 60
days, the third 90 days, the fourth or subsequent
for one year.

Driving Under the Influence is a Crime in Alaska.
AS 28.35.030 and AS 28.35.032 – Class A Misdemeanor/Class C Felony

AS 28.15.181 – Revocation of an operator’s license
AS 28.35.036 – Forfeiture of a motor vehicle

Fines (Minimum)         Imprisonment (Minimum)     Driver’s License Revocation Possible Loss of Motor Vehicle
1st Offense $1,500            72 hours 90 days Yes
*2nd Offense** $3,000            20 days 1 year Yes
*3rd Offense $4,000            60 days 3 years Yes
*4th Offense $5,000           120 days 5 years Yes

**For purposes of 2nd, 3rd, or 4th offenses, prior convictions for either DUI or refusal will be considered.  Prior convictions in Alaska as well as anywhere else in the
United States will be considered as long as the conviction occurred within the previous 10 years.  A conviction for both DUI and refusal arising out of the same
incident will be considered a single prior conviction.  Conviction of two or more DUI charges within a 5 year period results in a Class C Felony.

Just the facts:
• Alcohol was involved in 41 percent of fatal

crashes and 6 percent of all police-reported
crashes in 2002.*

• Alcohol-related crashes in the United States
cost the public more than $50 billion in
2000*, and 75 percent of these costs
occurred in crashes where a driver or non-
occupant had a BAC of .10 or higher.

• Every 30 minutes, someone is killed in the
United States in an alcohol-related crash.

• Impaired driving is the most frequently
committed violent crime in the United
States.

• One-third of all drivers arrested or convicted
of dring while intoxicated or driving under
the influence of alcohol (DUI) have a
previous DUI conviction.

*Most current data available from NHTSA.
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