
APSC INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION APPLICATION                       
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Recent Teaching Experience Course requesting Certification to Teach:     PLEASE ATTACH F-20 
and LESSON PLAN for Course 

Where When Subjects Taught Law Enforcement: 
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   Diploma     GED 

 
College(s) Attended/Location Credit Hours Major Degree (Type) 

Date Received: 

School/Location: 
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 Signature of APPLICANT Attesting Above Information is True and Correct: Date APSC USE ONLY 

Approved by:      

Signature of ENDORSING OFFICIAL (Department Head/Academy Director/Training Coordinator) Date Date issued     

  Number  

Alaska Police Standards Council 
Department of Public Safety 
PO Box 111200 
Juneau, AK 99811-1200 
Ph: (907) 465-4525 

F-9 
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APSC INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION 
The Alaska Police Standards council will award a permanent instructor certificate in law enforcement and general subject areas, as specified below.  All applications 
must be made on this form, F-9.  Unless already sent to the APSC, verification of training and education must accompany the application. The requirements below are 
intended to insure that instructors meet minimum qualifications in training, education, and experience.  For full text of regulations governing instructor certification, see 
13 AAC 87.040, printed in the APSC Regulations and Procedures Manual. 

A. Law Enforcement Subjects. To be eligible for certification to teach subjects clearly law enforcement in nature, an applicant must have a minimum of: 

1. high school diploma or the equivalent;
2. three years experience in their respective professions as police, probation, parole, or correctional officers;
3. 40 hours of council-approved instructor training - including but not limited to:  communications, psychology of learning, techniques of instruction, use of

instructional aids, lesson plans, evaluation of training, teaching resources, preparing and giving tests, and trainee motivation;
4. 40 hours of verified training in each subject to be taught;  and
5. recommendation by a director of a council-approved training program* or by the applicant's department head (per signature of endorsing official on this form).

B. General (non-police) Subjects.  To be eligible for certification to teach general subjects, an applicant  must have the minimum of: 

1. a bachelors degree from an accredited college;
2. three years experience in the subject taught and
3. the recommendation by a director of a council-approved training program* (per signature of endorsing official on this form).

C.  Waivers.  The council may waive any part of the above requirement if: 

1. it finds that a person, though not meeting all of the requirements, is otherwise qualified to be an
instructor.

Training directors/coordinators or department heads must submit a request for waiver in writing, stating why they consider the applicant qualified, even though he/she 
does not meet all requirements specified above.         

The council may revoke certification whenever it finds an instructor is no longer qualified;  the instructor will be so notified and allowed the opportunity to be heard. 
An instructor certificate becomes inactive if the holder does not instruct at least one APSC certified course during an interval of three consecutive years.  

*Programs certified by the APSC under 13 AAC 87.010 or .020
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