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APSC WAIVER AND RECIPROCITY REGULATIONS 

The Alaska Police Standards Council (APSC) is the certifying agency for police officers in 
Alaska.  The waiver and reciprocity regulations for APSC are under Alaska's Administrative 
Code: 

13 AAC 85.060. WAIVER AND RECIPROCITY 

(a)  The council may waive part or all of the basic police officer academy  
requirements if an applicant furnishes satisfactory evidence that the applicant has 
successfully completed   

(1) an equivalent basic police officer academy; 

(2) a 12-consecutive-month probationary period with the police department the 
applicant is employed within this state at the time of the waiver request;   

(3) a council-certified, department-supervised field training program; and  

(4) a council-certified recertification police training academy that consists of a  
minimum of 80 hours of classroom and practical training and that includes the 
following topics of instruction:   

(A) criminal laws in this state;   
(B) control tactics;   
(C) domestic violence;   
(D) ethics;   
(E) firearms;   
(F) use of force;   
(G) juvenile law and procedures in this state;   
(H) laws of arrest in this state;   
(I) traffic law in this state;   
(J) laws in this state regarding detection of driving under the influence and 

enforcement; and   
(K) recognizing and working with disabled persons.  

(b)  The council may enter into reciprocity agreements with states that regulate or  
supervise the quality of police training and that require a minimum of 400 hours of 
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classroom and practical training for police officers. The council will not enter into a 
reciprocity agreement under this subsection after December 31, 2016.   

(c)  Notwithstanding (a) of this section, the council will not grant a waiver if the  
applicant was previously issued a certificate that lapsed more than five years before 
the waiver was sought.   

(d)  On or after January 1, 2017, the council may enter into reciprocity agreements  
with states that regulate or supervise the quality of police training and that require 
a minimum of 650 hours of classroom and practical training for police officers.   

Applicants interest in the reciprocity process must understand that APSC retains 
discretionary power under (a) above.  Also, although APSC may accept an applicant's past 
training towards certification in Alaska, law enforcement agencies in Alaska may still 
require attendance at a full state-certified police academy.  APSC only sets minimum 
standards for police officer certification; agencies are free to exceed the APSC minimum 
standards to meet the needs of their agency. Consequently, applicants should check with 
the specific agency they are interest in working for to determine what their specific policies 
are with regard to waiver and reciprocity certification.   

The waiver and reciprocity academy, also known as the recertification academy, is 
normally held once a year in February in Sitka, Alaska.  Attendance must be approved by 
APSC.  APSC grants admission into the waiver academy by way of a sponsoring agency.  
Consequently, admission to this academy should be accomplished through the hiring 
agency.  Final approval for attendance must be obtained from the Director of APSC.   

If you still have questions about Alaska's waiver and reciprocity process, you can call APSC 
at (907)465-4378. 

Thank you for your interest in serving as one of Alaska's police officers.  We wish you the 
best of luck.   
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